

San Diego Unified Port District

3165 Pacific Hwy. San Diego, CA 92101

Special Meeting Minutes

Board of Port Commissioners

Thursday, July 21, 2022

12:00 PM

Don L. Nay Port Administration Boardroom

Special Board Meeting

A. Roll Call.

Present: 7 - Commissioner Rafael Castellanos, Chairman Dan Malcolm, Commissioner Ann

Moore, Commissioner Danielle Moore, Commissioner Sandy Naranjo, Commissioner Frank Urtasun, and Commissioner Michael Zucchet

Excused: 0

Absent: 0

Recused: 0

Officers Present: DeAngelis, Russell, Stuyvesant and Yeilding.

B. Pledge of Allegiance.

Commissioner Zucchet led the pledge of allegiance.

C. Public Communications.

The following member(s) of the public addressed the Board with non agenda-related comments: None

D. District Clerk's Announcements.

Sophia De Jesus, Deputy District Clerk, announced that additional agenda-related materials were received by the Board after publication of the agenda for the following item: Item 1 - File 2022-0208.

ACTION AGENDA

1. <u>2022-0208</u>

PRESENTATION AND UPDATE ON THE SEAPORT SAN DIEGO PROJECT WITH 1HWY1, LLC, FOR THE REDEVELOPMENT OF A PORTION OF THE CENTRAL EMBARCADERO DISTRICT AND DIRECTION TO STAFF

Tony Gordon, Director, Real Estate, joined by James Hammel, Department Manager, Real Estate, Adam Meyer, Assistant Director, Real Estate, Lesley Nishihira, Director, Planning, Elizabeth Alonso, Senior Deputy General Counsel, and presenting from the 1HWY1 team, Yehudi Gaffen, Alex Buggy, and James Mellor, addressed the Board with

staff's report and presentation regarding Action Agenda Item 1 - File No. 2022-0208 (A copy of the staff report, presentations and any agenda-related materials are on file with the Office of the District Clerk).

The following member(s) of the public addressed the Board with agenda-related comments: Pete Halmay, San Diego Fisherman's Working Group; Ann and Peter Fallon; Adrian Fremont; Anonymous; Anonymous; Anonymous; Carol Ann Fitzgerald; Cynthia Fuller Quinones, Claire Leschin Hoar; Claire Murray; Lisa Joy; Manuel George, Jr.; Mark Helvey; Dr. Molly Lutcavage, Pacific Islands Fisheries Group, Kauai Ahi Club and Pelagics Research Center; Ron Batcher, Lead Architect, Wholesale Markets and Facility Design Program, US Department of Agriculture; Rex Murray; Sona Desai, Co-Executive Director, Food System Alliance; Trey Angera, Executive Director, Maine Seaweed Exchange; Theresa Talley, Coastal Specialist, California Sea Grant; John McGrath; Janet Rogers, Embarcadero Coalition; Joyce Sumner; Katrina Boyd, San Diego Regional Chamber of Commerce; Nancy Reed; Susan Simon; Will Rhatigan, San Diego County Bicycle Coalition; Matt Everingham, Chief Technologist, Everingham Bros Bait Co.; Mark G. Stephens; Bonnie Kohn; Sidney Kohn; John Alvarado, Good Neighbor Project San Diego; Deborah Cushman; Stacey Pennington, SLP Urban Planning; Robert Piskule; Julie Coker, President & CEO, San Diego Tourism Authority; Peter Flournoy; Ryan Karlsgot, President, Citizens Coordinate for Century 3 (C3); Don Wood, San Diego Waterfront Coalition; Teddy Martinez, San Diego Regional Economic Development Corporation; Ashley Martinez, San Diego County Regional Airport Authority; Trudy Stambook; Matt Classen, Executive Director, TMA Blue Tech; and Josh Coyne, Vice President of Policy, Downtown San Diego Partnership.

Commissioner Zucchet, Commissioner A. Moore, Commissioner Castellanos, Commissioner Urtasun, Chairman Malcolm, Commissioner Naranjo, and Commissioner D. Moore provided comments and asked clarifying questions. Adam Meyer, Yehudi Gaffen, Lesley Nishihira, James Mellor, Rebecca Harrington and Joe Stuyvesant, President/CEO, responded.

Commissioner Zucchet left the dais at 3:24 pm and did not return; Chairman Malcolm left the dais at 4:06 pm and did not return.

Secretary, Board of Port Commissioners San Diego Unified Port District
ATTEST:
Clerk of the San Diego Unified Port Distr