

San Diego Unified Port District

3165 Pacific Hwy. San Diego, CA 92101

Special Meeting Minutes

Board of Port Commissioners

Wednesday, July 13, 2016

9:00 AM

Hilton San Diego Bayfront Indigo Ball Room One Park Boulevard San Diego, CA 92101

Revised Agenda - BPC Workshop

A. Roll Call.

Present: 6 - Chairperson Bonelli, Commissioner Castellanos, Commissioner Malcolm,

Commissioner Merrifield, Commissioner Moore, and Commissioner Valderrama

Excused: 0

Absent: 0

B. Closed Session Report Out.

Ellen Gross, Assistant General Counsel, announced that the Board considered the items on the Closed Session Agenda and that no reportable action had been taken.

C. Non-Agenda Related Public Communications.

The following member of the public stated he had a non-agenda comment, John C. Wotzka. Mr. Wotzka proceeded with his comments to the Board, which was in reference to Action Agenda Item 1 - File No. 2016-0411.

ACTION AGENDA

1. 2016-0411

PRESENTATION AND UPDATE ON THE RESPONSES TO THE WORLD-CLASS WATERFRONT DEVELOPMENT OPPORTUNITY (CENTRAL EMBARCADERO) REQUEST FOR PROPOSALS AND DIRECTION TO STAFF REGARDING FURTHER ANALYSIS AND PROCESSING OF THE PROPOSALS

Chairman Merrifield provided opening remarks. Shaun Sumner, Assistant Vice President, Real Estate Development, and Jason Giffen, Assistant Vice President, Planning & Green Port, addressed the Board with the staff report for Action Agenda Item 1 – File No. 2016-0411. Commissioner Nelson requested to speak during the staff report and requested a slide be presented to which he made various comments on the District's Integrated Planning process. Mr. Giffen concluded with staff's portion of the presentation and turned it over to Penny Maus, Department Manager, Real Estate Development. Ms. Maus introduced each of the six developers presenting for Action Agenda Item 1 – File No. 2016-0411. (A copy of the staff report, presentations and agenda related materials received are on file with the Office of the District Clerk.)

The following developers addressed the board with their presentations for Action Agenda Item 1 – File No. 2016-0411. Protea Waterfront Development (aka Gafcon), Great Western Pacific, Inc., HKS, McWhinney, Oliver McMillen and Ripley's. During the Board discussion, the Commissioners requested and received clarification regarding various aspects of their presentations from the representatives of each firm. Chairman Merrifield, Commissioner Malcolm, Commissioner Castellanos, Commissioner Bonelli, Commissioner Valderrama, Commissioner Nelson, and Commissioner Moore provided discussion and posed various questions to staff for Action Agenda Item 1 – File No. 2016-0411, to which Randa Coniglio, Executive Director, Ellen Gross, Assistant General Counsel, Mr. Sumner, Mr. Giffen and Rebecca Harrington, Deputy General Counsel IV, General Counsel's Office responded. During Commissioners comments, Commissioner Malcolm and Commissioner Moore disclosed that four of the developers, Protea Waterfront Development (aka Gafcon), HKS, McWhinney, and Oliver McMillen requested and met with the Commissioners. It was further disclosed that there was no request for meetings by either Great Western Pacific, Inc., or Ripley's.

The following members of the public addressed the Board regarding Action Agenda Item 1 – File No. 2016-0411 (A copy of agenda related materials received during public comment for the Board are on file with the Office of the District Clerk.): Zachery Belinsky, Vice President, Save Seaport Village / Village Hat Shop; Ricardo da Rosa, American Tunaboat Association (ATA); Len Krouner; Ken Seaton, Sheet Metal Local 206; Richard Martin, General Dynamics; Zondra Sofforidt; John Hall, California Pelagic Fisheries Association; Elizabeth Doran, President & CEO, San Diego Theatres; Theresa Talley, Coastal Specialist, California Sea Grant; Valerie Stallings, Retired City Council Woman; Kris Michell, CEO, Downtown San Diego Partnership; Pat Stark, Chair, Downtown Community Planning Council; John Hanna, Government Affairs Director, Southwest Regional Council of Carpenters; Cindy McAdams, Owner, Silver Crossing; Hadeel Abunadi, Seaport Village Tenant; Robert Moore, Seaport Village Employee; Craig Learner, Owner, Hot Licks; David Rude, President, Catalina Offshore; Brian Miller, President, Geppettos Toys; Colin Richard; Kevin Olenick, Seaport Village Tenant; Diane Collett, Resident, San Diego; Bridgette Browning, President UNITE HERE Local 30; Chris Glenn, Save Seaport Village; Kenny Alameda, Tuna Commissioner, US State Department, ATA; Diane Coombs, Navy Broadway Complex Coalition (NBCC); Greg Murphy, Executive Director, The Maritime Alliance; Sue Schaffner, Vice President,

Hostelling International; Mark & Raffaella Judd, Owners, The Mugger & Safari Animal Collection; Bill Tippets, Board of Director, Southwest Welders International Association; Marcia Liss, Treasurer, Save Our Seaport Village Coalition; Fran Pillersdorf, Downtown Resident; Judy Hawkins, Downtown Resident; August Felando, ATA; Brian Hallman, Executive Director, ATA; Marilyn Marx; Travis Hook, Director, San Diego EB-5 Regional Center; Reynaldo Ochoa, Peter H. Flournoy, General Counsel / Partner, Tuna Harbor Dockside Market; Mike Magallanes, Southwest Carpenters; Betsy; Ned Daugherty, H20 Futures; Brenda Ridder, San Diego Resident; Murtaza H. Baxmusa, PhD., Director of Planning & Development, San Diego Building Trades, Family Housing Corporation; Marie McFarland, Principal, American Wave Machines, Inc.; Phillip Harris, Director, Fabricators & Manufacturers Association San Diego; Sharon Cloward, President, San Diego Port Tenants Association; Chris Markoff; Larry Krasrisun & Michelle Alcanter, Ben & Jerry's Seaport Village; Peter Halmay, President, SDFWG; Neal Bienbaum.

The Board directed staff to exclusively continue its discussions with Protea Waterfront Development (aka GAFCON), to continue evaluating GAFCON's proposal and to return to the Board in October with additional information. This action is not a selection by the Board of GAFCON's proposal nor shall a final decision or approval be implied by this Board action. The motion passed by the following vote.

Yeas: 6 - Bonelli, Castellanos, Malcolm, Moore, Nelson, and Valderrama

Nays: 1 - Merrifield

Excused: 0

Absent: 0

Abstain: 0

Recused: 0

Secretary, Board of Port Commissioners San Diego Unified Port District

ATTEST:

Clerk of the San Diego Unified Port District